Mid Year Book Freak Out 2018

Happy Wednesday bookworms 🙂

I’ve been seeing this book tag everywhere lately so when I was tagged by two of my favorite bloggers in the same day I was so excited to dig in and do my own soul searching of the first half of my bookish year. Thank you so much to Maddie @ Munch Reviews as well as Hamad @ The Book Prescription for thinking of me for this tag. ❤ ❤

Now, as Maddie so eloquently put it – “without further ado, let’s get the freak out on!”

1. BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ THIS YEAR?

28954189

I have my mother and sister to thank for this one. They had been nagging me for months to read Scythe and had even given me the book which sat on my living room table for a long time. This is one of the first books I read all year and so far nothing has even come close to being better…. except perhaps…

 

2. BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ IN 2018?

33555224

After I finished reading this I had to put it down and take a step back from it. There were too many emotions and frankly I was super pissed off. But the more I thought about it, the more brilliant the whole thing seemed. I NEED to know what happens next!!

3. NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET BUT WANT TO?

30809786

This is going to happen and it is going to happen soon. I just need to read the first two again first because I am getting old and forgetful.

4. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR?

39720991  7767276 37954156

5. BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT?

34092885

I’m not going to get into it too much needless to say that I was expecting a cute, fluffy YA and that is not what I got. I’m clearly in the minority though because a lot of people really loved this one. You can check out my review here if you want to know more about why I was let down.

6. BIGGEST SURPRISE?

35967101

Okay so I was hoping to like this one BUT this book is just absolutely insane! Review

7. FAVORITE NEW TO YOU OR DEBUT AUTHOR?

32702487

This was easily one of my favorite books of the year by debut author Megan Bannen. She has a fan for life now. I’m so excited to see what she come up with next. Review.

8. NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH?

35069562

Simon is such a cutie pie! I’m using this cover because I jumped on the Simon bandwagon after the movie was released in theaters so it was hard to picture Simon looking like anyone other than Nick Robinson. (And yes I know that I am waaay to old for him & I’m not exactly his type but I still think he is cute)

9. NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER?

29589074

Devious…..

10. BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY?

34903941 32702487

Very rarely do I actually cry when reading a book but it does happen occasionally (I’m looking at you Dobby). These books both came the closest this year.

11. BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

36199084

12. FAVORITE BOOK-TO-FILM ADAPTATION?

Okay full disclosure, I’ve seen exactly TWO movies this year – Jumanji & Love, Simon. No, I’m not a freak that hates movies. I just spend nearly all my waking hours with a 9 month old and we’re those idealistic first time parents who are trying desperately to never have the TV on around our kid. Since I am one of about 12 people who was not a fan of the Simon movie, I’m stretching the category a bit….

35068432

This book was really amazing and Michelle McNamara’s attention to the Golden State Killer inspired a terrific podcast and an equally fantastic documentary series.

13. FAVORITE POST YOU HAVE DONE THIS YEAR?

I love every one of my posts when I’m working on them. This one has been super fun because I got to look back at all the books I’ve read in the last 6 months.

14. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT THIS YEAR?

23197837 34728667 29748925

I don’t buy a lot of books and when I do, they are mostly on my Kindle. But I did wait until the paperback version of Strange the Dreamer was released before I bought it because I think it is a gorgeous version.

As far as book I’ve read, I thought that both The Belles and Children of Blood and Bone were both super beautiful covers (and also great books!).

15. WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Seriously?! Literally ALL of them. I will direct you to my summer reads list I did on Tuesday for the most immediate books on my TBR.

I think everyone in the world has already done this tag. I tag you if you have yet to do it and you want to.

Happy Reading everyone!! ❤

 

19 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out 2018

  1. Ahhh I’ve seen this around but didn’t know what it was! This sounds like a lot of fun.

    And OMG I AGREE WITH THE BIRD AND THE BLADE SO MUCH I STILL CAN’T GET OVER IT
    The Kiss Quotient was so adorable I’m so glad you liked it!
    It sucks you didn’t enjoy Always Never Yours! I hope you eventually satisfy your cute + fluffy ya romance desire!
    AHHH REAPER omg i’m so excited for that one too! are you going to see her on tour if she comes near you?
    and ooh I’m woefully behind on Scythe (yikes). I bought the book but the books i’m the worst at reading are the ones that I physically buy. it’s going to be so long till I get to it HELP CONVINCE ME TO READ IT

    this looked like a bunch of fun! glad there were so many great books for you in 2018 so far!

    Like

    1. There is no shortage of cute fluffy YA romance out there lol. 😀 ❤
      I just finished re-reading Ember in the Ashes & Torch Against the Night so I'm READY for Reaper but I'm scaaaared! I keep hearing about how cruel Sabaa is to all her characters. I'd LOVE to see her but alas her tour schedule does not stop near me 😦 Maybe for the fourth book, she'll plan on coming my way. Or I can see her at a convention in the next year or so. Fingers crossed. I hear she is amazing in person. ❤
      READ THUNDERHEAD!! READ IT NOW!!! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. All your books are basically books I haven’t gotten to yet but really need to get to. A couple of them I have checked out from the library so hopefully sometime soon. A few of them I have been waiting for the audiobook for and it’s been taking forever. This makes me so happy to know how good all these books are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment